License for Use of Sogou Lab Data

The text below is the general public license document (“License”) regarding the massive Internet information and users’ behavior information collected and compiled by the R&D Center of SOHU("Center"). By downloading or using Sogou Lab Data and materials, a user is deemed to have accepted all the terms of this License. Any violation of the terms hereof will be deemed an infringement of Sogou’s intellectual property rights. An individual or entity that accepted this License and obtained Sogou Lab Data is hereinafter referred to as a “Beneficiary”. A Beneficiary is permitted to duplicate and release the copy of the original License but shall not make any modification thereto.

一.Preamble

Sogou is the first third-generation interactive Chinese search engine in the world developed and launched by SOHU on 3 August 2004 with completely self-owned technology. Sogou is a professional search website with an independent domain name—"Sogou" (www.sogou.com). Ever since Sogou's provision of search engine service, SOHU and the Center have been dedicated to studying and analyzing Chinese Internet information and behavior of Internet users. As a result, enormous Internet information in various forms is accumulated and is ever increasing, which is collectively referred to as " Sogou Lab Data".

Following SOHU's idea of caring for social welfare and serving and giving back to the society, we would like to provide relevant information products to scientific research personnel in general so as to promote the level of Chinese Internet information research and study and to further the continuing development of China's informationization and simultaneous development of Chinese information processing technology.

Sogou Lab Data is collected automatically by various computer programs, and is only intended to be used by scientific research personnel in studying Chinese Internet information and users' behavior. The copyrights in any specific information of Sogou Lab Data (such as webpage) shall vest in its respective author and publisher. SOHU is not liable for the legality, accuracy, reliability and completeness of the content of such information, nor shall it be liable for any legal liability arising from any dispute in connection with the information contained in such webpage. SOHU pays special attention not to disclose the specific users' information in any form in any type of data released by it. In addition, SOHU objects to any study or research on any specific user using any Sogou Lab Data.

二. Rights of Beneficiary

1. To use Sogou Lab Data free of charge.

2. To propose to SOHU any suggestion regarding the improvement of any means or method of data collection.

3. To carry out research or study on Sogou Lab Data to form achievement with its own intellectual property rights.

4. To cooperate with SOHU based on the research result of data products released to launch new products.

三. Obligations of Beneficiary

1. To respect the privacy of the individuals who is the original source of such information. SOHU only encourages the Beneficiary to use Sogou Lab Data for the statistic feature and behavior analysis and research relating to Chinese Internet information, the target of which might be a special group of people but shall not be any specific individual or result in attention to any specific individual.

2. In the process of in-depth study using Sogou Lab Data to obtain achievement, the Beneficiary shall specify the provider of such data (i.e. Center).

3. It is prohibited to provide Sogou Lab Data to any third party. Any third party may visit the homepage of Sogou Lab directly to download or apply for copies of such data in any media (hard disk or compact disc).

4. The users of the data is obliged to initiatively notify Sogou Lab of any achievement (program, paper, etc.) obtained by using such data. If Sogou Lab finds out any such achievement by itself, it is entitled to list the name of such achievement into the achievement list of such data. Sogou Lab is not entitled to share such achievement.

5. If the Beneficiary directly uses the universal set or subset of Sogou Lab Data for any commercial purpose, it is required to pay SOHU according to the commercial cooperative mode (specific payment pattern is to be otherwise agreed ). With respect to this License, the term "commercial purpose" means the Beneficiary combines the universal set or subset of Sogou Lab Data with or incorporate the universal set or subset of Sogou Lab Data into its products or services to be distributed externally for profit.

6. If there is any change in the License, the most updated online version thereof shall prevail.

By R&D Center of SOHU
September, 2008

搜狗实验室数据使用许可协议

下面的正文是用户使用北京搜狗科技发展有限公司及其关联公司(下称搜狗公司)收集、整理所得到的海量网络信息和用户行为信息(下称搜狗实验室数据)须遵守的通用公共许可协议条款。用户下载、使用搜狗实验室数据资料,即表示用户接受本协议的所有条款。所有违反本条款的行为都将被视为对搜狗公司知识产权的侵犯。接受本文件,并获得搜狗实验室数据的个人或单位在下文中称为"受益者"。

一.序言

搜狗搜索是搜狗公司于2004年8月3日推出的完全自主技术开发的全球首个第三代互动式中文搜索引擎,是一个具有独立域名的专业搜索网站--"搜狗"(www.sogou.com)。在搜狗搜索引擎推出服务以来,搜狗公司一直致力于针对中文互联网网络信息和网络用户行为的分析与研究,其开展的各项工作也形成了形式多样,数量巨大,并且在不断增长的互联网信息积累,统称为"搜狗实验室数据"。

秉承搜狗公司对社会公益事业的关心以及服务、回馈社会的理念,我们愿意将相关信息产品提供给广大科研人员使用,借以推动中文互联网信息研究水平的提高,促进国家信息化建设的不断发展和中文信息处理技术的共同进步。

搜狗实验室数据均是通过各种计算机程序自动收集所得,仅供科研人员研究中国网络信息和用户行为所用。其中具体信息(例如网页等)的版权归作者和发布者所有,搜狗公司对信息内容的合法性、准确性、可靠性、完整性概不负责,也不因网页信息内容引起的纠纷承担任何法律责任。搜狗公司特别注意避免在其发布的任何类型数据中透漏任何形式的具体用户信息,同时也反对任何利用搜狗实验室数据进行的针对具体用户的研究。

搜狗实验室数据产品均免费提供(仅向受益者收取必要的介质成本和处理费)。

二. 受益者的权利

1. 免费使用搜狗实验室数据。

2. 向搜狗公司提出关于数据收集方式、方法的改进建议。

3. 开展基于搜狗实验室数据的研究,形成自有知识产权的成果。

4.基于已发布数据产品的研究结果与搜狗公司进行合作,推出新产品。

三. 受益者的义务

1. 尊重信息原始来源个人的隐私权,搜狗公司只鼓励受益者使用搜狗实验室数据产品进行与中国网络信息相关的统计特性与行为分析研究,这些研究可以针对特定人群,但不得针对特定人或导致对特定人的关注。

2. 在利用搜狗实验室数据进行深入研究而获得的成果中,应指明数据的提供方(搜狗公司)。

3. 禁止将搜狗实验室数据提供给第三方使用,第三方如有需要可直接访问搜狗实验室主页下载或提出介质(硬盘、光盘)拷贝申请。

4. 数据使用方有义务将使用数据获得的成果(项目、论文等)主动告知搜狗实验室;若搜狗实验室自行发现,也有权利将该成果名称列入该部分数据的成果列表。搜狗实验室不具有分享成果的权利。

5. 如果直接利用搜狗实验室数据的全集或者子集于商业目的,需要按照商业合作模式,向搜狗公司付费(具体形式另行协商)。对本搜狗实验室数据使用许可证而言,"商业目的"是指受益方将搜狗实验室数据的全集或者子集与其产品或服务相结合或并入其中,以盈利为目的对外进行销售的行为。

6. 数据使用协议条款内容如有变化,以线上最新版本为准。

搜狗公司
2016年8月